May, Liebster & The Phenomenal Woman.

 

So it’s a new day and everything seem beautiful and sane  at least till 11:00 am, when I have to rush out for a meeting. The fact that I can write after how many days? or weeks? gives me sheer joy.

 

Yay!!! I’ve got so much on my mind and I’m so excited.

“How important it is for us to recognize and celebrate our heroes and she-roes!”-Maya Angelou

Image

Here’s to the phenomenal woman, Maya Angelou, thank you for living your life, thank you for giving to the Lord. Mine is a life that was changed by your words. Okay, before I start famzing and acting like I know Maya personally, lemme just confess. I only got to know this woman was still alive a couple of Months ago. You know, when her name pops up in my head or when I ponder on two of her quotes, that happen to be my favourite, I think of Shakespeare *coversface*. Okay, maybe not Shakespeare but do you get the drift?

I’ve seen some of her works and sayings and I’m in awe. Indeed, this is a phenomenal woman. A woman who lived her life, in and out, who touched millions of hearts. I read what Fred Hammond wrote about her on FB and I see a woman who lived what she preached. This is one woman I wish I had met. This is not a tribute of some sort, I don’t even know what it is. But as the Phenomenal woman said herself, “When you get, give. When you learn, teach.”. Here’s hoping you check out the life she lived and be reminded of your life’s mission.

Image

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humour and some style”-Maya Angelou

Here are two of her quotes that I referred to as my fav’s. One of them is one of the reasons I started my blog, the other tells me I haven’t started anything yet. I must let the story out.

“A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.”

 

 

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside of you.”

 

Some others are:

“I know that when I pray, something wonderful happens. Not just to the person or persons for whom I’m praying, but also something wonderful happens to me. I’m grateful that I’m heard.”

“We have to confront ourselves. Do we like what we see in the mirror? And, according to our light, according to our understanding, according to our courage, we will have to say yea or nay – and rise!”

“I love to see a young girl go out and grab the world by the lapels”

“I have found that among its other benefits, giving liberates the soul of the giver.”

“A cynical young person is almost the saddest sight to see, because it means that he or she has gone from knowing nothing to believing nothing.”

“I love the melodies in the Old Testament, how preachers highlight them when they read from the Scripture. But I was influenced forever by the New Testament. I love the Beatitudes, informing us that the meek shall inherit the earth.”

“My life has been long, and believing that life loves the liver of it, I have dared to try many things, sometimes trembling, but daring still.”

“All of us knows, not what is expedient, not what is going to make us popular, not what the policy is, or the company policy – but in truth each of us knows what is the right thing to do. And that’s how I am guided”.

“I am grateful to be a woman. I must have done something great in another life.”

“When a person is going through hell, and she encounters someone who went through hellish hell and survived, then she can say, ‘Mine is not so bad as all that. She came through, and so can I.”

“Timidity makes a person modest. It makes him or her say, ‘I’m not worthy of being written up in the record of deeds in heaven or on earth.’ Timidity keeps people from their good. They are afraid to say, ‘Yes, I deserve it.’”

 

Image

To be happy is to live a full life, give your all and die empty. Maya Angelou sure did. Rest on ma’am.

And here’s to the rest of Us. May we live our lives phenomenally, not just passing through but leaving our footprints on the sand of time.

 

Image

So Itunu of Glowingscenes  passed on the Liebster Awards to me. Thanks babes. I promised I was gonna do this a long time ago but I couldn’t get down to it. So, here’s how it works: I say ten things about me, answer some questions and pass the award to some amazing writers.

 

Okay, let’s do this.

Ten things about me

 

1  I LOVE READING/WRITING- I just had to write that in upper case. It is my forte, my safe haven. I can be alone for weeks and I won’t be lonely, as long as I have books around me. I’ve been alone in my house for two weeks now, I have books everywhere in my room, I always do anyway. I can’t even tell you the number of books I have. Books, Magazines, Novels, Newspapers, Bibles (different versions), etc. I just love to lie on my bed or on the sofa, curled up with a good book and good music. I started writing stories in primary school. I remember I used to write and sell short stories for N5 when I was in JSS. I love writing, scribbling, whatever, I just love the feel of pen on paper, or hands on keyboard as the case may be. I totally agree it’s not the easiest thing in the world though.

 

1392838648856 

 

2   I like laughing- I really do. Forget about the analysis on the number of muscles it takes to laugh or frown, I just like laughing hard.

 

3   I love WATERMELON!- I find it difficult to believe that I hated it at a point in my life. Now, as long as I have cold watermelon, I don’t care about food. I’m not even sure you can visit me and not take it o. You won’t understand my point till you try it someday. Cold/chilled watermelon makes my day, any day!

Image

4   I love KJV- I love reading the bible, I really do. Of all translations, KJV is still my favourite. Don’t get me wrong, MSG, NLT, AMPLIFIED and some other translations take the message straight home but for me ehn, I just love coming across all the “Draw nigh to me’s”, and “cometh’s” of King James.

5  I’m the 2nd born in my family and first of four girls. I have trIplet siblings that I looovvvveee to brag about. I mean, the whole, “your mum has triplets? really? wow!!” scenario never tires me. In fact, I look forward to it in most cases so I mention it intentionally, like I’m doing now.

IMG_20140331_003017

6  I love nature. I like to just behold the rising and falling of tides, the rising and setting of the sun, green trees, blowing wind, the appearance and disappearance of rainbow, etc. It’s not something I can explain really.

7  I love drawing/designing. I can draw almost anything, if you don’t mind it not been perfect. I’m not an artist, I just like making use of a pencil and paper. I remember my days in school, a boring lecture usually births cloth designs. I will just shut down and start drawing. I love colours. (When I saw this on Itunu’s post, I was just like no wonder I like this girl) Chai. One of the reasons I love designing is the fact that I can actually play with colours. I don’t even have a best colour or something.

8  I studied Sciences in School, I love Arts and right now, I’m on the Commercial side of life. I used to think I am confusion personified but now I know better. If you ever need some explanation on Romans 8:28, “ALL THINGS work together for good for those that love God…” you should talk to me, I’ll just tell you my story.

Image

9  I’m one of those people who like to think they can sing, but in reality, reverse is the case. I love music o, like seriously. I can even back up with soprano, alto and even tenor but please don’t ask me to sing alone. I was in a concert recently and I was recording a particular performance. I was singing along, and in my mind, I was doing a great job. Till I got home and played the thing. The rest as they say is history

Image

10 I love God. I love the way He fathers me. I love the way He loves me. I love the fact that He called me out of darkness into His marvellous light. In Him I live and move and have my being. I can’t reiterate it enough, I just love HIM!

Image

 

 

Image

WHAT’S THE PURPOSE OF MY BLOG?

Image

I started my blog basically for ladies. The reasons are below:

To be a shinning light in this dark world.

To be a sister to a sister I probably will never meet.

To help lift a feeble hand up.

As an extraordinary child of an extraordinary God, I intend to continually talk about this extraordinary God.

Image

 

 

WHAT’S YOUR MOST PRIZED POSSESSION?

Ah, I had to think hard on this one o. I had to really search/check. My most prized possession is my faith mehn, my salvation. I really don’t care how that sounds, it’s the truth. I can lose anything and my faith will still keep me, but without it, who am I? Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir’s, “I never lost my praise” is a song that I can relate with.

WHAT DO YOU LOVE ABOUT GLOWINGSCENES?

I love glowingscenes, if she hadn’t passed Liebster Award to me, I would have passed it on to her anyways. I love the fact that she’s a storyteller. I love love the fact that are stories are centered on God. The catch for me is that she writes everyday stories and still preaches through them. I love the way her mind works. The girls tells great stories abeg. Beyond all these, I love and admire this babe’s commitment to writing. She has like two stories on, Dear Diary and Switched and she meets deadlines. Every week. In between, she still manages to write articles and her opinions. You go girl, I respect you. Little wonder I call you bestie on blogville.

WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN FIVE YEARS?

Right in the centre of His purpose for me!

WHO’S YOUR ROLE MODEL IN/OUT OF BLOGVILLE?

Joyce Meyer- For her courage and strength, she is never afraid to tell her story.

Francine Rivers-The woman has a heart yielded to God, you only need to read her stories to know. Redeeming Love and Atonement Child are my fav’s so far. Evergreen stories.

Kenneth Hagin-Even in death, he remains a teacher of the word.

(I can’t help but fall for people, particularly women who walk with God, work for God and are passionate about purpose)

 

DESCRIBE YOURSELF IN ONE SENTENCE

Extraordinary child of an extraordinary God.

 

IF YOU HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO MEET WITH ONE PERSON IN THE WORLD, WHO WOULD IT BE?

Maya Angelou, Kenneth Hagin and Francine Rivers.

Yeah, I know Maya and Kennneth are out so it’s Francine. I have loads of questions for her.

 

WHAT’S THE FAVOURITE POST YOU’VE WRITTEN? (WITH THE LINK)

I would say “When a loved one leaves.” There’s something about death that gets to me. It was the first post I wrote on this blog and I still read it  over and over again.

 

WHAT’S YOUR ULTIMATE GOAL IN LIFE?

To live life fully; give my all and die empty. Make heaven and take as many people as I can with me.

Image

 

WHICH HUMAN HAS THE LARGEST PART OF YOUR HEART RIGHT NOW

Boolicious. Who else biko?

 

Unveiling the new award winners:

the arard goes to...

Joshua of  LordJosh Writes. Even if you don’t read any other thing on Joshua’s blog, Demons on Church Street is worth checking out.

Topazo of Zaphnathpaaneah. Topazo recently passed on the writing process blog tour to me as my little something. His name was already on my list for Liebster though so, here we go.

Itunu of VirtuousSpirit

Kwasisei of Eyes Touched by Dew

Ijeoma of Olorungemstone

 

Amazing, amazing writers!

 

To the birthdays.

 

Image

Happy belated birthday to Me and to all May celebrants. May the good Lord bless and keep us all. May the rest of our days be the best of our days.

Image

Image

Thank you all for birthday messages and wishes.

 

Image

Happy new month people, Joy all the way in June.

Cheers!

 

PS: I started this post on May 31st, could not publish. It was supposed to go out in May, but as it is, that wasn’t possible. I’m sure you will see one or two things pointing to that fact in the write up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “May, Liebster & The Phenomenal Woman.

  1. I have come across quotes by Maya Angelou but have not taken time to read about her but now I will. it is sad thought that it is in death that I will discover how phenomenal she was…at least her works will live on after her and she has a legacy that is unending…something to always be remembered for.

    I see what you did there with number 10, putting it there last, so that it will be point that will linger in our minds…God is always there, a sure rock that will can lean on. Even when we can see Him, He is always there. We all should love Him; Love Him more daily.

    So, you write just for ladies abi? alright o…all we men will just go and be finding somewhere else to sit down…

    So you are a May ‘children’? we didn’t know on time o…So, here is your birthday wish- Happy Birthday Buqie! Many happy returns of the day, long life and prosperity…hip hip hip, hurray! you know what that means huh? Caaaaaake! and no, I will not take water melon…lol

    I see we share a love of Francine and ‘redeeming love’. cool! have you read her ‘mark of the lion’ series? it’s amazing!

    so you were selling short stories for N5? you too like moooooney! lol

    I love nature too.. especially the view from atop a mountain. there everything is at peace far above the hustle and bustle of men and I love to capture the beauty with my lens…..

    ah, I grew up with KJV and most of the bible verses in my head are stored in KJV format. but now, I prefer NLT and MSG, they make things much clearer but I find I can’t memorize scriptures in those versions. I still memorize scriptures in KJV format…it’s much easier memorizing scriptures in KJV, or maybe it is just me.

    Finally, thank you for the Liebster award conferred on me and other amazing writers. you had to go and explain that it was not because I tagged you earlier. kai! why would anyone think that? women sha! (now I am looking for trouble…*flees*)

    P.S see how I wrote a post within your post?

    Like

    • Hmmmmm, you should take time out to check Maya’s stuffs, it cannot not be worth your while.

      You ehn! You sha have a way of knowing these things. The Spirit teaches you all things, yeah?

      I don’t write just for ladies, though for every post, I’ve got one lady in mind. However, if a man reads and sees ‘something’, i think i can say the post was for him. So you guys berra grab seats and sit down here o…lol

      My shidren no be small matter o. Na we be that jare. Thanks for the wishes but don’t you think the cake will be bad by now? I think so too. So, watermelon it is mehn…

      I love Francine Rivers o, anyday! Redeeming love is evergreen abeg. All intending couples should read it. Aside the fact it depicts God’s love to us, it’s the perfect example of what a man should mean when he says the words, “I love you”.

      Mark of the lion is the story of the slave girl who fell in love with the master’s son shey? Chai, the story is just too sad jare

      Not my fault o, who doesn’t like money? I ‘talk’ money for a living now. I probably had it in me sha. Plus my friends pushed me to it and it sounded nice. Blame me not, Oh ye man.eheheheh

      Ah, i love pictures too. I look at a picture and see things people don’t see. Don’t even get me started about nature o, i can go on & on…

      Yeah, the memory verse thingy is one of the reasons I’m stuck with KJV.

      *Covers face* Now, why did I mention that?
      Chai, buh we this women thing you mentioned, you should flee noni o.

      Looolll! You are a writer na, you can’t help yourself I’m sure.

      Thank you Topazo, Thank you for everything. Your kind words always make me smile and I find myself looking forward to your comments.

      Gracias!

      Like

      • if the cake is bad, you better bake another one…water melon is a no no

        I totally agree with you on the redeeming love book. it is one of the few books that I have read again and would still love to read again. the mark of the Lion series is kinda sad but it had a happy ending….

        awww..thank you for your kind words…

        Like

      • Okay, seeing as you are a man of faith, i’ll say you should just feast on the cakes in the post.

        These things are possible, if only you’d believe.

        Like

  2. @bukky wow this is really inspiring.good work.@bros T abi oo imagine all these stuffs for ladies chai bukky dey do partial ooo

    Like

  3. Happy birthday in arrears dear..
    Twas niice getting to know more about you! And oh, you have loads of books eh? Someone needs to gimme this Francine Rivers books to read or point me towards where to get one.. and nature? I soo relate, my best scene in my head is on a quiet place, just with trees or beach, typing with my head lifted high to the skies! Ah! Pure bliss!

    and as for watermelon? I like it but your love for am sha? Just come stock me up for dis week biko.lol

    Like

    • Awwww, thanks dear.

      I have books o, as in BOOKS!
      Ah, and i have Francine’s books o, getting them across to you will be the wahala as you be Island babe.
      You can get in any Christian bookshop sha. You can also get in the bookshop in Ikeja Shopping Mall. They have Francine’s books and books by other great authors. I’m not sure Shoprite VI has it though. Redeeming love should be your first point of call. Thank me later!

      I totally agree, sheer bliss it is!

      You should try to slice in a bowl and keep in a freezer till it’s frozen. Biko remember to thank me later!

      Now, you have two things to thank me for o.

      Thank you dearie, you’ve got such a kind heart!

      Like

  4. This is so nice Bukky. All those months of commenting on my story and I never thought to check out yours. I’m so sorry about that.
    This was a nice one, Maya was the woman on Touched by an Angel, right? That’s all I knew about her until she passed. Great quotes from her though, great words.
    I don’t really get the award you passed to me, so please explain a little.
    I’ll check your blog more often now. Promise

    Like

    • Ahn ahn, Senior Josh, why na?

      I don’t know about Touched by an Angel, haven’t seen it. Maya was the woman in Tyler Perry’s Family Reunion. One of the old aunties. I think she wore yellow throughout. The scene where the aunties were giving advice, close to the end of the movie.

      Okay, Liebster is just a blog award. It’s passed on from a blogger to other bloggers. You get to write ten things about you and pass it on to other writers you consider amazing. I think the initial idea was ten writers, i just chose five. Now that you have it, you do the same and pass it on. I think the purpose is to appreciate writers and spread the word about good work.

      Just follow my own patter na or google for more info.

      Trust me sha, it was a pleasure commenting on your story. Felt like i was reading a novel by Mary Higgins Clark.

      Thanks for stopping Josh.

      Like

Leave a Reply

