Empty Handed

Hello People,

Happy Sunday!! Trust today’s service was bam, being the first Sunday in May. Thank God for January, for February, for March, for April and now for May. May is a very special month I must confess. Special people can only be born in special months. Ehehehe. *irepmayborns*

God is good, He has been faithful!

Thank God for where we were, where, we are and where He is taking us to.
Thank God for things that are working and things that are not.
Thank God for Nigeria. Despite everything going on, God remains God!
Thank God for tomorrow (this is my favourite part), He is already there!!

image

Ah, I’ve been away for sooo long. Life been happening o. Thank you for stopping by again. Thank you for always being there. Today’s post was inspired by something that happened to me last week. This is not a time to rest people, we must work the field of souls.

Read. Sing. Meditate. Enjoy!!!

Must I go- and empty handed?
Thus my Redeemer meet?
Not one day of service give Him,
Lay no trophy at His feet.

Must I go and empty handed?
Must I meet my saviour so?
Not one soul with which to greet Him?
Must I empty handed go?

Not at death I shrink or falter,
For my Saviour saves me now;
But to meet Him empty handed,
Thought of that now clouds my brow.

Must I go and empty handed?
Must I meet my saviour so?
Not one soul with which to greet Him?
Must I empty handed go?

Oh, the years of sinning wasted,
could I but recall them now,
I would give them to my Saviour,
To His will I’d gladly bow.

Must I go and empty handed?
Must I meet my Saviour so?
Not one soul with which to greet Him?
Must I empty handed go?

Up, ye saints, arouse, be earnest!
Up and work while yet ’tis day;
Ere the night of death o’ertake you, strive for souls while yet you may.

“I must work the works of He that sent me while it is day. The night comes when no man can work.”-John 9:4, NKJV

Sometime last week, i got a ping from someone I ‘ve known since I was a little girl. She’s actually like a big sis to me and she’s married with 3 children. So you can understand my shock she told me she was looking for a job and would like to submit her C.V in the organization where I work. She wanted me to do the submission and probably make some calls. I tried to explain to her that age is one of the key factors and that it will be the first point of call for the HR person in charge considering the position she wants to apply for.

Next thing my dear sis said was, ‘ehn, na to change age na’

Oh, did I mention the fact that this sister’s voice can send 10 angels packing with all the singing they do day and night? Whenever she holds the mic ehn, chai, things happen. She sings all parts and sings them well. Just try her with worship, you might not recover for  days. And that’s not a joke. She’s one of the few people that I look at and say, ‘indeed, we have this treasure in an earthen vessel.’

image

Something definitely went off in my brain when I heard her comment. I was just like, ‘you too??’ Yeah, I know she is human bla bla but guess what? When God deposits some stuffs in you, you’d better tread carefully. I mean, if I didn’t know what I was doing, I could easily have made excuses for her like, ‘she really needs the job’ or ‘ God will understand na, she can always ask for forgiveness’ etc. Simply put, a sin is a sin. No excuses. No justification. A non-believer could have heard her statement and be like, ‘we are all the same after all.’ I was surprised. I was shocked. I was disappointed.

“Don’t let your ‘eating’ ruin someone for whom Christ died”- Romans 14:15b, NLT

I asked myself a question I think you should ask yourself too, ‘ what really is the price of my soul? what will it take me to leave what I know to be the right path? What will it take me to drag people down with me on the way to the broad road? A well-paying job? A fancy car? money? what is it?’

image

Of course, we should look unto Jesus and not men but as far as some people are concerned, we are the Jesus they see or know. We are the bible some people will ever read.

“But we Christians have no veil over our faces; we can be mirrors that brightly reflect the glory of the Lord. And as the Spirit of the Lord works within us, we become more and more like Him.” -2 Corinthians 3:18, NLT

The onus lies on us as CHRISTians to right the wrongs in the world. The world is waiting for us. We just need to be careful of the way we live our lives, not as fools, but as wise people. Talent is cheap mehn, the Spirit of God in you should make a difference!

image

“So be careful how you act; these are difficult days. Don’t be fools; be wise: make the most of every opportunity you have for doing good. Don’t act thoughtlessly but try to find out and do whatever the Lord wants you to do.”-Ephesians 5:15-17, NLT.

Of course, i did not write this post to point fingers or cast stones. I can do that only if I be without sin. The incident got me thinking and I just had to share. We cannot afford to turn back at the slightest provocation. We must take a stand. Far too many lives depend on your life and mine. For every decision we make, destinies are affected, either positively or negatively. The ripple effect will always be there.

Every new day is an opportunity to be a better person, a better you. Thankfully, it’s a new day, a new week, a new month! Opportunities abound. Decide not to go empty handed, bring someone to Christ.

“Now your attitude and thoughts must all be constantly changing for the better. Yes, you must be a new and different person,  holy and good. Clothe yourself with this new nature.”- Ephesians 4:23-24, NLT

image

Have a grace-loaded week/month people!

Cheers!!

4 thoughts on “Empty Handed

  1. “No wonder the Scriptures say, “The Gentiles blaspheme the name of God because of you.” Romans 2:24
    this was one great chastisement I received one day while reading the bible and I just closed the bible and didn’t open it for days. it was like a sucker punch…it was too heavy

    sadly I can’t say that I have changed much…and every day I live with the heavy heart that I am not ‘repping up’ Christ well.. and I ask for mercy…

    living the Christian life is not easy and it takes conscious effort and most times taking the easy route is so alluring that we would have started walking down the path before we realize…and then the serious decision of whether to turn back and start over or just keep walking and ignore the spirit stares us in the face…most times we choose wrong

    thanks for sharing…the price of our soul is great and nothing is comparable to it, not even the wealth of the whole world…our greatest enemy is not pain but pleasure, and the allures of it…

    happy new month

    P.S that hymn was the hymn I was humming as I prepared for church on sunday…the spirit is one!

    Like

    • This scripture is fresh o, i have to check out the whole chapter.

      Yeah, the Christian life is not rice and beans and like you said, it takes conscious effort. Thankfully, we don’t have a big vengeful God up there waiting for us to make mistakes so He can strike us dead. As long as we consciously work hard to be better and rely on Him, He will definitely help us!

      Really? Yep, the Spirit is indeed one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

