Why Do We Sing?

Hello Darlings,

How was your week? And today’s service?

I apologise for not putting something up last Sunday, girl was on a journey and it was mighty stressful.

Okay, so i promised a hymn or a song every Sunday right? We’ve been doing hymns, it’s a song today (Yeah, excited much).

So the song for today is one we all know, it is a question really, one we all need to answer truthfully.

Sing, Meditate, Enjoy.

Why Do We Sing By Kirk Franklin

Someone asked the question
Why do we sing?
When we lift our hands to Jesus
What do we really mean?
Someone may be wondering
When we sing our song
At times we may be crying.
And nothing’s even wrong
I sing because I’m happy
I sing because I’m free
His eye is on the sparrow
That’s the reason why I sing
Glory
Hallelujah
You’re the reason why I singGlory
Hallelujah
I give the praises to You

Glory
Hallelujah
You’re the reason why I sing

And when the song is over
We’ve all said
Amen
In your heart just keep on singing
And the song will never end
And if somebody asks you
Was it just a show?
Lift your hands and be a witness
And tell the whole world
No
And when we cross that river
To start  war no more
We will sing our songs to Jesus
The one whom we adore

Image

Why do we sing? or better still, why do you sing?

A wise somebody once said, ‘when the purpose of a thing is not known, abuse is inevitable.’

A lot of us like music. To answer the question, ‘why do we sing?’ might be a bit difficult, as far as we are concerned, it’s an in-built thing.

Image

For you, is music all about raising holy hands in worship?

Or do you sing to let off some steam?

Some of us sing to ‘feel good’.

For some others, if everybody’s singing it, i gotta sing too.Never mind the fact that it might be a case of empty lyrics and hyped beats as is the case with most of the secular songs around.

Wait, we all went to church today right? (even if you didn’t, at least you’ve been there before). So when it was time to sing, what came to your mind? What happened to you on the inside?

Image

Really? You mean you don’t know?

When we lift our hands to Jesus, what do we really mean?

Is it to thank Him for everything? Or simply to worship Him for who He is?

Raise you hands in acknowledgement of who He is and what He has done.

Image

Worship goes beyond singing ‘slow’ songs and closing our eyes while at it. Gone are the days when at the mention of worship, ‘e se o baba…’ comes to mind.  Worship is an expression, it goes beyond you really, you can’t explain it. You find yourself lost in His presence, you are just in awe, swaying in the strength of worship. The tempo of the song, whether slow or fast does not really matter, as long as your passion is conveyed with dexterity.

Image

Please don’t tell me gospel songs are boring, for every genre, there are songs that can change your life. Talk about Deitrick Haddon, Don Moen, Women of Faith, Hillsong, Natalie Grant, Cece Winans, Juanita Bynum etc. In this part of the world, African richness is exuded in our gospel songs. From the Sonnie Badus to the Kores to the Sinachs, to the Nathaniel Basseys, Frank Edwards etc of our time, gospel songs can only get better.

Image

When we worship in spirit and in truth, the inevitable happens, it is called change! It is impossible to worship from the depth of your heart/soul and remain the same!

Image

Ah, the joy of being in His presence, doing nothing but worship, knowing this is all we’ll do in heaven. The feeling that envelopes you when you worship with everything within you ehn, it is more refreshing than swigs of coffee at dawn, it is way better than smelling the drifting fragrance of flowers upon waking, it is incomprehensible really, everyone should experience it.

Image

At times we may be crying, and nothing’s even wrong.

For Lawrence Flowers, it’s this simple:

Image

More

1
All the worshiper in me wants to be free
From the cares of life that seem to weigh me down
Yes the worshiper in me needs consistency,
to lift my hands and you give praise when no one’s around

2
All the worshiper in me wants to break free
From the intellectual mentality
Like I when I should be up, I’m sitting in my seat
I should be lifting up my hands, giving you praise and glory
Lord, I should be giving you more
more
I should be giving you more

Chorus:
I wanna give my best to you
i wanna do what you asked me to
i wanna go wherever you say
just say the word and I’ll obey
I wanna live the life that’s real
I wanna serve you Lord for real
For you deserve all these and more
So I give you more
More More
(It belongs to you)
You’re deserving of more (repeat several times)……..

Image
You don’t know Lawrence Flowers?
Let’s come back home, Nathaniel Bassey has this to say about worship:

Verse 1:
When I think upon your goodness;
And Your faithfulness each day
I’m convinced it’s not because I am worthy –
to receive the kind of love that You give.
But I’m grateful for your mercy,
and I’m grateful for your grace
And because of how You’ve poured out Yourself,
I have come to sing this song out in praise

Imela, Imela (Thank You! Thank You!)
Okaka, Onyekeruwa (Great and Might creator of the world)
Imela, Imela, (Thank You! Thank You!)
Eze m Oh (My King)

Verse 2:
Who am I to sing Your praises?
Who am I to worship You?
It’s Your blood that makes the difference in me
And made a way to enter into Your throne
I could not come near Your presence
I could never sing Your song
But the sacrifice on Calvary’s tree
is the reason I can cry out today

Imela……

Onyedikagi? Ekene diri gi(Who is like You? All Glory belongs to You)
Onyene mema (He who does good)
Onyedikagi? Ekene diri gi (Who is like You? All Glory belongs to You)
Onye nagworia (Mighty Healer)

So these guys have their reasons. What’s yours?

And if somebody asks you, was it just a show? Lift your hands and be a witness, and tell the whole world NO!

Image

I could go on and on about how you are not supposed to listen to some songs or how you should worship God with your life, but I think I’ll just say these:

If it won’t edify your soul, it ain’t worth listening to. If it won’t draw you closer to your maker, you have no business singing it. But we know these already, don’t we? To know is not enough, to do is the main thing.

Again I ask, why do you sing?

Image

Have a great week People.

Blessings!

Image Credit: Google

2 thoughts on “Why Do We Sing?

  1. I get a special kind of joy when I sing,it’s like a dead specialty is awakened…it assures me that Christ is ever near evn at d slightest call…nice one swirie…this has multiplied thoughts in my head

    Like

Leave a Reply

